ASIAN PALACE PHO 99

So you must be thinking, “It’s about freakin time!”

Or, you may feel more like, “Huh? Challenge what?”

Back in 2013, I gave myself the task to try out all the reputable pho spots in town to seek out the best of the best. It’s an understatement to say that I’ve been slacking on my mission.

Sowwie.

So, here we go!

ATT_1442776677281_20150919_194806-1
VIETNAMESE SPRING ROLLS

These were flavorful and crisp, and the sauce they serve was heavy with fish sauce, which I love. Delicious!

ATT_1442776677058_20150919_195223-1
PHO ACCOMPANIMENTS

None of the sides were old or stale, and they give you a lot more jalapenos than other places. I was incredibly happy with that, and you could tell how fresh they were because they were very potent! I loved it!

ATT_1442776676859_20150919_200340-1
SPECIAL COMBINATION PHO

Before adding any of the fixings to my bowl, I always taste the broth first. It’s noticeably sweeter here than average, which I’m not a fan of. However, after adding all the jalapenos, basil leaves, and sprouts, it’s not as obvious. The quality of ingredients were good but the portions scarce. Sadly there was only one piece of tendon and just a few of tripe. The beef was good, and it’s great they actually serve rare pieces, but they were all pretty lean, no fatty bits and such. Healthier? Yes? More tasty? Nope.

Pho 99 is a good spot for pho but it does not rank as the best for me. Some fantastic pros here  but not without some disappointing cons. I know it’s a popular spot, and many locals prefer their noodles here to anywhere else. It just goes to show how different everyone’s tastes are. The atmosphere is spacious and casual and the service was good. Prices are about the same as the other pho spots in town.

Three down, two more places to go!

