So Nathan just bought a house. After he moved all his belongings and got a little settled in, we sat there famished and queried whether or not there were any good food spots close to his new home. Pulling up Yelp, I was quite surprised that there was a Salvadorian restaurant listed nearby! Unfortunately, this was on Christmas day, and they were closed. I resigned to our misfortune and a couple weeks later, we got the opportunity to check the place out.

My Entree: Stewed Beef with Rice and Beans. Far plate: Cheese and pork pupusa, boiled plantains, fried yucca, and tamale.
My Entree: Stewed Beef with Rice and Beans.
Far plate: Cheese and pork pupusa, boiled plantains, fried yucca, and tamale.

ATT_1421350972781_20150103_181446

The thick corn tortillas that came with my entree.
The thick corn tortillas that came with my entree.
Empanadas.
Empanadas.

Living in Grand Rapids, I am always so grateful for spots like this. While I’ve never been to El Salvador, you definitely get a sense of authenticity here. The food was great! A couple of items were just okay. I highly recommend their delicious pupusas, boiled plantains, and their tamales. Their horchata is tasty as well. I nearly finished the whole thing within the first couple of minutes of sitting there. The atmosphere is very casual, a bit cafeteria like. Some people may get a little apprehensive looking at the little restaurant from the outside, but when Nathan and I walked in we were warmly greeted by the staff and received friendly service. The loud tv was the only annoyance I had, and that faded away throughout our meal.

Pupuseria El Salvador La Original is a restaurant that lingers on my mind long after I’ve dined there. Looking forward to going back!

