As you may guess, SpeakEZ is a take on the secretive and illegal speakeasy establishments that gained immense popularity during America’s Prohibition Era. What makes this bar one of my favorite places to go are their classic and artisan cocktails. Ever since this bar opened, I’ve been impressed with their drink menu. They also have a great selection of beers for, you know, everyone in Grand Rapids. My liking of their food hasn’t been as consistent, however. Sometimes really good, other times just okay, but never bad. I do appreciate the creative aspect of the menu.

Goat Cheese Spinach Artichoke Dip
Goat Cheese Spinach Artichoke Dip

Herbed chevre goat cheese with spinach and artichoke and  served with toast points and butter pretzel rods. Tasty and fun to munch on.

The Greenbriar
The Greenbriar

Seared medallions of beef tenderloin topped with a reduction of balsamic vinegar, garlic, Brussels sprouts, bacon, wilted spinach, apples,  and gorgonzola cheese.  Accompanied with herb roasted potatoes. This dish was fantastic, and everything went so well together. It only got too sweet for me near the end.

C4
C4

Chocolate chip cookie cake with vanilla bean ice cream a SEZ chocolate sauce. Meh. I need to stop ordering desserts just because they come with ice cream, as I find most desserts to be too rich.

Positively 4th Street
Positively 4th Street

SpeakEZ’s take on the Manhattan. This drink was great.

Long in the Houndstooth
Long in the Houndstooth

Their version of the Old Fashioned. If I thought the prior was great, then this one was awesome! I fell in love with first sip.

The prices here are medium to a little high, and I’ve always received good service here. I prefer coming here when they don’t have that open mic thing, when it’s less busy and more quiet. The space is large so it’s a good option for bigger groups as well. Great drinks, good food, spacious and relaxed atmosphere, and bonus- a pool table in back!

