I came upon this restaurant by accident. Perusing Yelp one day and looking over reviews, somehow Namaste Kitchen popped up. At the time there was only one review, and quite a positive one. Honestly it wouldn’t have mattered what the reviewer had said, because once I saw that the restaurant offered Nepali food, I was sold. I couldn’t’ wait to check it out. Not only have I never had it before, Grand Rapids has never had a place that featured it (as far as I know). There is also Indian food on the menu and interestingly enough, a couple of Chinese dishes.

Namaste Kitchen.
Chatpate.

The Chatpate is a mixture of potatoes, onion, green chili, fried peas, mustard oil, lime juice, cilantro, salt, papad, crispy rice, and bitten rice(?). I loved this vibrant dish. It was very salty but the cilantro cuts it and complements beautifully. The spice was great, and on several occasions I bit down a crunchy pea. I don’t know if that is prepared that way on purpose or not.

Namaste Kitchen.
Chola Chana with Puri.

 I am going to guess that Puri is the bread. Greasy and a little bit sweet, it was definitely not my favorite part of the dish. The Chola Chana is described as Kabuli Chana, red onion, tomato, garlic paste, ginger paste, chili powder, and salt. Nice mild flavors and maybe the least salty of all the dishes I tried.

Namaste Kitchen.
Indian Fry Rice.
Namaste Kitchen.
Pork Sekuwa.

 The Indian Fry Rice was great, and I can see it being popular with the masses here. Onions, carrots, peas, and egg, this dish had a sweet touch to it. The only negative was that the meat, along with the entire Sekuwa dish, was incredibly burnt. While nicely spiced, similar to the Chatpate, they completely overcooked the pork. I don’t know if that’s just the way they prepare it in their own country, or that they just don’t consume a lot of it. Perhaps the cook plainly just did a poor job. The menu describes Sekuwa as a boneless piece of meat, cut in a specially designed way and mixed with spices and grilled in fire.

Namaste Kitchen.
Indian Tea.

Indian tea with some sugar and cream. Rich and delicious, I would cut back on the cream a little. I prefer teas without any additions but Indian ones are always an exception.

I will definitely be visiting Namaste Kitchen again, and I’m looking forward to trying other things. Their vegetarian fare was fantastic, and I will try another meat dish next time with hope and wariness. Our server was friendly and helpful, albeit his accent made it a little difficult for me to understand him a couple times. The atmosphere is very casual and I think the prices are quite low for the amount that you get. If you haven’t been here yet, check it out and let me know what you think!

