Monk Kok, Kowloon, Hong Kong.
Mong Kok, Kowloon, Hong Kong.

For our layover in Hong Kong, I booked a room through Airbnb for quite a reasonable price and a friendly host. Located in Mongkok, we were situated literally right in the middle of the famous Ladies’ Market. At the time of booking, I read about that detail but didn’t look into it. Indeed, out the front door and we were smack dab in the middle of a shopping stall, one of the hundreds that line one kilometer of streets.

DSC01187

Mongkok is one of the most densely populated areas in the world. The weather was cooler and gorgeous, comparably to Georgetown in Penang. The atmophere was so frenetic! People packed everywhere, long ass bus lines on every street, and a mix of new modern buildings attached to old decrepit ones. At night, there is no way you could escape lights, colors, and a humorous number of signs. Not that I would ever want to. I loved the energy.

DSC01200 DSC01198

Lookit All Those Signs!
Lookit All Those Signs!
Street Food, Not Nearly As Many Stalls Or Karts Found Here As Penang.
Street Food, Not Nearly As Many Stalls Or Karts Found Here As Penang.

So with all of that, you would think I would have a ton of food to blog about for this entry, right? Nope. I was on a quest to find some great dim sum, and the boyfriend and I wanted to find a place to eat that was within walking distance to our stay. That part in itself wasn’t difficult; what was a little frustrating is that every place we walked into was packed, and there were plenty of attempts. No free seats in sight. The few street stalls we came across encompassed mostly sweets and fried things, and didn’t really intrigue me much. We finally came across a three story noodle restaurant, and we were sat at a table community style.

My Noodle Dish.
My Noodle Dish.

The bowl looks much better than it tasted. Not that it was bad, it just wasn’t that good. The whole menu was a variety of different selections for you to create your own noodle dish. I was really excited about that, and also the different levels of spice they offered. However, I found the flavor to be bland, and the spiciness was much more black peppery than the kind derived from chilies.

The boyfriend and I each had a bowl of noodles and two drinks and the total was 90HKD, which equals to 11.61USD.

After dinner, we came across a food vendor and even though I was full, I couldn’t resist.

Intestine.
Intestine.

How was it? Smelly. Really smelly. Fortunately, it didn’t taste as bad as its odor may lead one to believe. Rubbery, thick, and to be honest I don’t remember much of a flavor. Quite mild. It cost me 2HKD, which is about 26 cents here.

I finally did get to have the dim sum I so yearned for during the stay in Hong Kong, but unfortunately it wasn’t exactly what I was hoping for. More on that in the next chapter!

