Le Kebob on 28th Street is a Middle Eastern and Mediterranean restaurant located in a strip mall.  I liked the food so much that I went again the next weekend, so this entry will have two trips combined into one.

Le Kebob Garlic Spread.

Le Kebob KibbehLe Kebob Meat Pie.

As soon as you are seated, your server tells you that they will be right back with a basket of bread and garlic. This honestly may be my favorite part of the whole restaurant. The pita comes out hot and tender, and the spread is phenomenal. I am obsessed with garlic, so some may find it overwhelming. When I asked what it was made of, I was told that it’s just garlic, olive oil, and “a couple other things.”

The right is Fried Kibbeh. Beef and onions sauteed, stuffed in kibbeh balls, and fried. Served with a very mild yogurt sauce. The kibbeh here is my favorite I’ve ever had so far, due to flavor and the moistness.

Bottom photo, their Meat Pie. I liked the filling but I wasn’t a fan of the dough, mostly the texture.

Le Kebob Chilli.

Le Kebob Salad.

The Lamb Chilli was pretty lackluster. The salad came with my meal, so I’m not sure which one is was. Either the Greek Salad or the House. It was quite fresh and the citrus dressing was very tart.

Le Kebob Lamb Chops.

The Lamb Chops come in three or six pieces. I’m not sure if they only cook it to one temp, or if the server forgot or didn’t bother to ask me, but they came out well done. Surprisingly, I still enjoyed it. Seasoned deliciously. The rice was tasty and light with a nice oiliness to it.

Le Kebob Sauteed Beef.

The Sauteed Beef is cooked with mushrooms, cilantro, and a little garlic. The sauce was a little too sour for me, but I have to state that I was getting over being sick when I had this meal. I’ve noticed that when I haven’t gained my senses back to normal levels, I’m quite sensitive to sourness, so that may have been a small factor.

Le Kebob Rice Pudding. Arabic Coffee.

I love rice pudding, and this one was pretty great. Cold and not too hard, not too soft. Their Arabic coffee was good as well, and I think it’s best to drink it without cream.

The service here has been efficient and friendly, and the atmosphere is pretty casual. Prices are in the medium range. Le Kabob is one of my new favorite restaurants in GR, and if you’re in the area you should check it out.

Update 9.23.14

Try the Batata Hara! Freakin delicious!

Batata Hara

