I’m so glad that I finally got the chance to eat at Shiraz Grille. We came in on an off time on a Saturday afternoon, so it was quite slow. I had the fortune of being joined by my friends Jose and Eddie, and it was a first for all three of us!

Shiraz Grille.

If I remember correctly, I think we all managed to order the same martini to start. I don’t remember the name, but it is the one that has rose water as one of the ingredients. My friends both liked theirs, but I wasn’t crazy about it. It basically tasted like juice, and I like my martinis alcoholic.

20140208_15135020140208_150911

We were served a complimentary plate of cheese, radish, and green onion. Simple, light, and enjoyable.

I ordered the Kashk Bodemjon to start. Roasted eggplant cooked with garlic, mint, and onions. Mixed with whey, then topped with caramelized onions and served with pita bread on the side. This dish was my favorite from the entire dinner. Fragrant, elegant, smooth, and very flavorful. It was delicious!

20140208_152422

For my entree, I ordered off the Khoreshes section, which is described as a delicate and refined stew.  Mahicheh (lamb shank) braised with tomato sauce with carrots. Herb and fava bean rice accompanies it. First of all, the portion was huge. Secondly, when I went to cut the lamb, it was so tender that it fell apart as soon as I touched it with my knife. Incredible. The rice was mildly flavored and soft, but not mushy. I liked my dish, but wasn’t in love with it. I did, however, try some of Jose’s Shish Leek (rack of lamb) which is the plate they seem to be known for. Seasoned beautifully, it was unique compared to foods I have tried, and is my definite choice for my next visit.

Persian Ice Cream.

This was my second favorite part of my meal. Persian Ice Cream, house-made from scratch, and I’ve been craving more since I had it. Apparently the recipe is secret so I can’t really say what the flavor is. I can describe it as slightly sweet with the pistachios fusing for a salty finish and crunchy texture. The wafers were a great addition.

I’m told Shiraz is usually slow. The location of this restaurant isn’t the best, and the prices are medium to high. The food is so great though, and I’ve also been informed that the owners spend money on ordering the highest quality of ingredients for their menu, which reflects on the prices. We received good service, and the interior is beautiful, fancy and comfortable. It’s one of my new places I like to recommend to everyone, and I hope it sticks around for much longer than what people perceive.

