What is the correct term? Grand Rapiders? Grand Rapidians? Anyway, people from the East GR area most likely know about that one restaurant connected to Bombay Cuisine. The one that never stays open very long, and then shortly after closing another restaurant ventures in. Well, the newest business currently residing in this space is an Italian restaurant, called Trattoria di’ Stagione.

I was happy to enjoy this dining experience with my old friend, Neal. It was the first time for both of us. I have heard both positive and negative feedback from others about the restaurant, so I didn’t know what to expect.

App
Eggplant Caponata.

We started with the Eggplant Caponata appetizer, which was great. Savory and slightly sweet with tart notes. Eggplant, peppers, raisins, pine nuts, parmesan with nice oiliness to it. Served with slices of grilled bread which had good flavor and texture. We both really enjoyed this dish.

20140211_175958

20140211_181731

The Romaine Salad was good, but for $8 dollars I think it was overpriced, and the huge chunks of romaine was a little awkward. The bread was moist and a little cooler in temperature than what I’m used to. I don’t know if it’s supposed to be that way or not.

Linguine with Clams.
Linguine with Clams.

My pasta dish was good, but to be honest nothing very special. The oiliness was almost overwhelming but thankfully the flavors of the dish still showed through. There was a good amount of clams, which were tender and delicious.

Chocolate Gelato.
Chocolate Gelato.
 

For dessert I ordered their Chocolate Gelato. It was rich, thick and tasty and only got sickening at the very last few bites. I asked our server if they make their own gelatos, and she informed us that everything on their menu is home-made.

Neal and I came here on a week day at an earlier dinner time. I was pleased to see that they had a decent amount of diners in there. Overall I enjoyed my time; good food, middle of the range prices, friendly service, and a nice interior and atmosphere. If they offer rotating Features and Specials, I can see myself being drawn back repeatedly.

