Logan’s Alley, one of the popular bars on Michigan Street. A neighborhood pub, this bar boasts 23 beers on tap and over 200 in bottles. Again, I’m not a beer drinker, and it’s usually too busy for me to ever come here at night. The space is smaller, and I dislike drinking anywhere that I can’t find a place to sit. However, Logan’s is the only bar on Michigan Street that I enjoy, because of the food.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms.
Crab Stuffed Mushrooms.

This is another spot that frequently changes menu items, and I always look forward to their monthly specials. I really appreciate restaurants that have the want to consistently bring out new ideas for all the customers out there. The Crab Stuffed Mushrooms was one of their Specials a bit back, most likely not on the menu anymore. They were pretty good.

Their regular menu is great as well, and when dining here I usually have difficulty deciding between several options. They have a selection of appetizers that are “For The Good” and also “For The Bad” which is kind of cool. Soups, sandwiches, salads, and various plates. There are influences of Asian, English, American, and Mexican cuisine throughout.

BYO Burger and Fries and Pickled Vegetables.
BYO Burger and Fries and Pickled Vegetables.

This trip out I was craving a good ol’ American burger. They let you build your own here, which I always love to do. Mine consisted of fresh red onion, garlic sauce, fresh jalapeno, mushrooms, and an egg. It was delicious. It got a little too rich right at the end because of the yolk, but that’s to be expected. The dish comes with pickled vegetables which was fantastic, and their fries? Dangerous. Thin, skin on, crispy on the outside and mushy on the inside. It’s one of those things you just can’t stop eating, like pistachios, or boiled water chestnuts. So so so great. Fancy seasoning not needed here.

If you’re a fan of beer, lively atmospheres, and crowded spaces, you’ll like it here. They also have one pool table in another room which is always a huge plus. I myself much prefer coming here during lunch, when it’s bright in the bar, quiet, and I can focus on tasty foods… I suppose it’s one of the many signs of my aging. I don’t care.

 

