The third and final chapter of my Penang food trilogy.

Char Kway Teow.

The very famous Char Kway Teow! Perhaps the most popular and known dish on and off the island. There is a precise way in making this, which involves incredibly high heat and a wok. I’m told it’s not that easy to make good Char Kway Teow because of those special factors.

Pork Skewers.
Pork Skewers.
Curry Mee.
Curry Mee.
Close up.
Close up.

The Curry Mee had a coconut broth base that was too much for me. However, the noodles themselves were fantastic. There was some spice to the dish as well but it wasn’t enough to mask the sweetness. I loved that there were clams in it.

I got ten skewers for 10 ringgit, which is 3.04 USD. The Curry Mee was 4 ringgit, 1.22 USD.

Mee Goreng.
Mee Goreng.

A popular noodle dish, this one sounded better to me than it tasted. Again, there was a nice spice to it, and I wished that there were more sprouts and potatoes. It was good, but not great, and it got a little sickening after a while. It was also take away, so maybe if I ate it right as it was made it would have been better?

3 ringgit = .91 USD.

Lamma Island Aroma Rice.
Lamma Island Aroma Rice.

At a sit down restaurant, this bowl was the boyfriend’s but I tried some and it was so very tasty. Made with steamed rice, brown sauce, a drumstick, caramelized sausage, something green, giant mushroom, and an easy egg. It was simple but so delicious.

Smashed potatoes folded in crepe.
Smashed potatoes folded in crepe.

Penang.

One of the days we were wandering around we were so lucky to stumble upon Diwali! We had no idea it was going on, and we couldn’t believe how utterly fantastic it was that we happened to wander that way. Diwali is a Hindu holiday celebrated every Autumn. It was quite a festival. Unfortunately again, I didn’t get any photos, just several shaky videos. The streets were lined one after the other with vendors and goods and there were lights and bright colors everywhere. Loud and energetic Indian music blared from all corners and there were so many people. It was a beautiful sight during the day and even more so into the night! The atmosphere was positive, energetic and fun.

The boyfriend and I had dinner at an Indian restaurant. I love going out to eat Indian food here in Grand Rapids but there were plenty of items on the menu that I have never seen before, like the smashed potatoes in crepe. Pretty freakin’ delicious. You would think that the boyfriend and I would have been used to the crazy low prices of food in Penang, but we were still shocked to find that the five large plates we ordered came to be 24 ringgit total. That is 7.31 USD. Here in the States, for one plate of food at an Indian restaurant starts between $12 to $14 dollars. In Georgetown, five whole dishes cost 7 bucks!

8 Boutique By The Sea.
8 Boutique By The Sea.
Our view from 8 Boutique By the Sea.
Our view from 8 Boutique By the Sea.
Tanjung Tokong.
Tanjung Tokong.

Not sure why I’m going backwards with this, but 8 Boutique By the Sea was where we stayed our first night on Penang Island. Located right by the water, in the city of Tanjung Tokong, it’s a very nice, little, and quiet motel set in the middle of a Chinese fishing village! I loved it. I don’t want to start describing the area in detail because these entries are already too long. Let’s just say that it was quite different from anything here and I’m so glad we got to experience it. The desk lady spoke some English and was quite nice and helpful, as was the young staff member who cleaned. They put us in their nicest room, which was new and clean had a great view of the village and water.

Meat and potato Nasi Lemak.
Meat and potato Nasi Lemak.
Mini fish burger and sweet rice cake.
Mini fish burger and sweet rice cake.

It was here that we had our first experience with food in Penang, and I was ecstatic. The nasi lemak we bought from one of the stalls pictured above was the best I had the entire trip, and the mini little spiced fish burger was delicious.

This is the conclusion of my trip to Georgetown, Penang Island. From the food aspect, of course. To be honest, the incredibly hot and tropical weather conditions Malaysia possesses was the only factor that I disliked on the entire trip. Other than that, I can say that I genuinely fell in love with the place. From the U.S., the cost of flight is quite high but when you’re there, lodging and food prices are so incredibly low that I feel everything rounds out pretty reasonably.

Georgetown is a popular tourist spot but it’s not overwhelming. There are definite areas around town that are foreigner heavy (mostly Aussies), but the culture and spirit of the country still shine through, even there. That sounds pretty stupid but you know what I mean. Right?

