I have always enjoyed Bar Divani. Located right downtown, an area I tend to avoid, I don’t get to frequent it much. It’s also not a cheap place, which is another reason why I don’t often go. Known for the huge wine menu, they also have a large selection of beer and liquors. And so far, I haven’t had a meal here that I have been unhappy with.

My friend Paul and I strike again, which means shared plates!

Bar Divani.
Zovo Valpolicella 2006.

I love Amarone wines, and at the time of this visit they had two on hand. We went with the lower priced option, pictured above. It was good, but nothing special.

Hanger Steak and Salmon.
Hanger Steak and Salmon.

Paul ordered the Hanger Steak to be prepared medium rare and the dish came out rare. The lighting in there is always dim, however, so I can’t be 100% certain. Either way, I was okay with it, since I order everything rare anyway. The steak was good and the potatoes were delicious, with good texture. The salmon contained good flavor but was a bit dry in certain parts. The kale was citrus-y and I really enjoyed it.

Mushroom Flatbread.
Mushroom Flatbread.

The Mushroom Flatbread was great. The mushrooms were of portobella, oyster, and crimini variety. The chives were a perfect complement and the real, grated Parmesan cheese gave it a texture that I don’t experience often.

Another nice evening with good company, ambiance, and service. I will say this though, that it was not enough food for the price. (In my world, anyway.) Paul and I went to another bar after our dinner and ordered more eats.

