Holidays, people, and work! Busy busy. Finally, on with the second half of my food adventure in Penang, Malaysia. Uploading these pictures is making me miss Georgetown all over again…

Karts and stalls and markets everywhere!
Karts and stalls and markets everywhere!

Penang.

Did I mention in my previous post why I love Georgetown so much? Yes, the cuisine of course, but what also made me fall madly in love was that you could take fifteen steps in any direction and voila!- you come across lines of hawker stalls, karts, or street markets! The food is fresh, having been picked quite early in the day and there are so many different options of food, drinks, and shopping.

Gurney Drive.
Gurney Drive.
A beach at Gurney Drive.
A beach at Gurney Drive.
Gurney Drive Hawker Centre.
Gurney Drive Hawker Centre.
Chee Cheong Fun.
Chee Cheong Fun.

Gurney Drive is what I would call one of the ritzy areas of Georgetown. You can tell there is money there. The boyfriend and I wanted to check out the famous Gurney Drive Hawker Centre. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I believe that it may be the largest one on the island. Located right by the beach and the new, very large and beautiful shopping mall in Komtar Tower, there are quite a lot of people milling about. It’s a huge space of food stalls lines up side by side, with plenty of tables and seats in the center of it all. The photo above doesn’t do justice, as we went early on in the evening and the picture doesn’t depict how large the center actually is. But let me tell you, this place was just awesome. 

(The boyfriend and I didn’t have any issues but when eating there, but be sure to sit at nearby the stall you are ordering from. Sometimes the hawkers can be territorial about the tables.)

Line Clear.
Line Clear.
Nasi Kandar.
Nasi Kandar.

Speaking of fame in Georgetown, Chulia Heritage Hotel is right next to the incredibly popular eating spot called Line Clear. Featuring Nasi Kandar, it is a type of Indian Muslim cuisine that originated in Malaysia. You pick a plate and inform the server or chef what you want piled on it. There is a large variety of rices, meats, vegetables, side dishes, and a whole slew of curries. The cashiers were friendly and funny, calling the boyfriend and I “East Meets West” or something like that. (I’m Chinese-Korean, he’s white….is what that comment was pertaining to.)

It cost 26 ringgit for both our plates, which is about 7.92 USD.

Watching the process of making one of my favorite things was pretty great.
Watching the process of making one of my favorite things was pretty great.
I don't know what this is called but it was one of my favorite things about Penang!
I don’t know what this is called but it was one of my favorite things about Penang!

We came across this on our last day, and I just loved watching the hawker prepare and cook it. It is by far one of my favorite dishes from Penang, maybe even my favorite? And I don’t know what the name is! Stir fried non-sweet rice cake chopped up with several different sauces, green onion, sprouts, and egg. He asked if I wanted it spicy. Of course I did. It was so delicious. I needs it.

2.70 ringgit for the whole thing so .82 USD.

If anyone has a clue what this dish is called, I would be so elated to know. If anyone can come to my city and cook it for me, that would be even better.

