Real Food Cafe is a popular family owned breakfast and brunch spot here in GR. There are two of them, and I live closer to the one located on Eastern Avenue. I’ve always heard good things about this place, and the first attempt at eating here failed because I was too hungry to wait 45 minutes for a table. This cafe is always packed out.

I have never been a breakfast person because the majority of typical breakfast foods of this country bore me. However, if I hear of a great place to eat that I’ve never been to before, it’s my duty to check it out! This visit was met with another 45 minute wait, which I hear is standard, but this time around the boyfriend and I chose to stick it out.

Cole Slaw.
Poppyseed Cole Slaw.

The serving of cole slaw that I received was pretty terrible. I suspect that after it was taken out of the refrigerator, it was left untouched and not tossed or mixed. It tasted how a cooler smells, and there was a distinct difference from the top layer and the bottom. It was also watery and bland.

Smothered Beef Sandwich.
Smothered Beef Sandwich.

The rosemary focaccia bread was very good. There was a lot going on with the sandwich, and I really appreciated that the flavor or the rosemary still fought through. The portabella mushroom was fantastic, the marinade quite sour but it was okay with all the different tastes combined. The caramelized onions were light and not too sweet, and I enjoyed the horsey mayo. The classic french fries were good in taste and texture, but nothing special.

realfoodc
The boyfriend’s meal.

The service was good, and the atmosphere quite busy. All in all, I don’t see what the big deal is. The boyfriend and I enjoyed our meals, but we agree that it isn’t worth the consistently long wait that dining here entails. More importantly, there just wasn’t much on the menu that caught my interest. But I’m sure that if I actually enjoyed breakfast foods more, my opinion would be different.

