If you live in Grand Rapids, or have ever just visited, the chances are likely that you have visited this popular, environmentally friendly gastro pub. Their menu consists of a variety of eclectic cultural cuisines, and they focus on sourcing from local farmers, breweries, and wineries.

Dining here many times, this restaurant’s fare is always a hit or miss for me. I find their daily specials to be great, but their regular menu options to be just okay or even lacking. They also fail at their Asian influenced dishes. I do not recommend.

Long Day Martini.
Long Day Martini.

The Green Well’s cocktail menu is creative. The Long Day martini was pretty good. Made with Jim Beam bourbon, lemon juice, bitters, and their own ginger ale, this drink was tasty. Refreshing and light, without being overly sweet or having a thick consistency.

Cream of Mushroom Soup.
Cream of Mushroom Soup.

This soup was delicious. Very strong with garlic, and I really enjoyed the grainy texture of it. It had a bit of something sour, but not in a bad way. Side note; I’m starting to wonder if I am highly sensitive to sour notes. Usually when I pick up on it the company I’m with don’t seem to experience the same thing.

Quinoa Falafel Wrap.
Quinoa Falafel Wrap.

This wrap was made with quinoa falafel, feta, cucumbers, spinach, red onions, marinated red peppers, herb vinaigrette, and encased with tomato wrap. It wasn’t as light as I was expecting, more so rustic in flavor. It was good, but nothing special. Fruit was chosen as a side because I never eat it, and I’m trying to introduce it to my system as I get older. Definitely a bad pairing for the wrap. The chips it originally comes with or anything salty is a much better complement.

This gastropub offers good service, great atmosphere, nice alcohol choices, and delicious dishes usually found on their specials menu as opposed to their core one.

